How to Eat Healthy in Airports

A few years ago, I decided that instead of making monumental, hard-to-keep New Year’s resolutions, I would instead make easy-to-do and super simple ones that would still result in self- or life-improvement.  One such resolution that I’ve made is to eat absolutely nothing sold at the airport or served on the plane, except for fresh fruit (exceptions may apply for long-haul flights).

This small resolution has been one of the best things I have done for myself in terms of travel.  Not only am I able to save money by avoiding overpriced airport food, this also ensures that I arrive at my destination feeling a bit hungry.  And this is a good thing, because when I finally treat myself to something delicious in some new city, healthy or not, it will be absolutely worth it!

Sometimes it’s not so easy to survive on fruit and water (I always pack apples, Ponkan oranges, or grapes), so whenever my flight schedule falls on lunch or dinner time, or for any trip longer than 2 hours, I pack a small feast in my handcarry.

Here are some of my favorite airport/airplane baon ideas:

Homemade Granola Bars.  I wrap each bar in wax paper or cling wrap, and store them in ziploc bags.  Get the recipe here.

Avo Butter and Crackers.  Avo butter is simply smashed haas avocados with EVOO and sea salt.  I keep it in a small plastic container and enjoy it crackers or crisps.

Egg and Crackers.  Pretty much the same thing as avo butter and crackers, except I pack mashed hardboiled eggs.

Hummus and Carrot Sticks.  I often pack homemade hummus with my carrot sticks, but for a special treat, I love Yogibrunch’s Chana Hummus or Real Girl Toy Kitchen’s chipotle hummus.

Roasted Chickpeas.  I pack these in small ziploc bags so I can munch on them instead of chips.  Here’s how to make your own.

Salads.  Packed in disposable plastic bowls with fitted lids that can hold up really well in my handcarry.  I make sure the dressing is on the side so I don’t end up with a soggy salad.

Fresh Chinese Lumpiang Gulay.  Lumpia is one of my favorite Chinese delicacies,  and they hold up pretty well when you wrap them individually with cling wrap and pack them in disposable food containers.

Bliss Balls.  I make my own using raw cashew, dates, cacao, nut butter, and honey or agave.

Nuts.  My favorite nut-blend is called Valdosta Pecans by Sahale Sacks but they’re crazy expensive at P300+ for a small pack.  I splurge on this when I’m really craving but otherwise, I’ll make my own nut-blend by mixing Ding Dong mixed nuts, cranberries, and fresh cracked black pepper.

Would you pack your own food for the airport or plane ride?  What healthy eats would you recommend?  I’d love to know.

Leave a Reply

