How to Live a Luxurious Life

You don’t have to be a billionaire to live a luxurious life.  I’ve always believed that luxury is in the little things that make life pleasurable or even magical, and they don’t always have to cost a thing.

beach
Free stock photo via FreeStockPhotos.biz

To me, it feels much more luxurious to walk around sampling tiny bites of everything at a colorful and bustling market, than to sit down to a 10-course meal at a fancy restaurant that requires you to book a table months in advance.

My beloved grandfather’s old coin purse is more luxurious, and infinitely more precious, than any shiny new handbag delivered in a big black box.

And when it comes to material things, it is always more luxurious to own just a few items that you really love and use, than to have closets overflowing with things you don’t even need.

That said, it’s important to find out what simple things make life luxurious for you, and to consciously include them in your everyday life — you’ll be so much happier for it.

Here’s my personal list:

Fresh brewed coffee ready and waiting for me, as soon as I wake up.  This is something I look forward to everyday, and it’s kind of my incentive to get my ass out of bed.

Spa-like shower and after-shower routine.  There’s nothing like a strong, hot shower with my favorite bath products to set my mood for the day.  I love using this amazing body wash, followed by some Neutrogena sesame bath oil and Zenutrients Argan All Around balm before getting dressed.  I don’t always get to do all these on busy days, but when I do, I always come out of the bathroom feeling really happy.

Healthy, delicious meals.  I used to think of steak and truffle cream pasta as a luxurious lunch, but since giving up meat, the meals that feel the most luxurious to me are the ones that are as healthy as they are delicious.  Enjoying my food and feeling great even after I eat it — this is luxury to me.

Really good dessert.  I know I just said that healthy meals are luxurious, but I’ve always had a weakness for dessert.  Full fat dessert.  I don’t mind indulging, because I don’t have dessert everyday (anymore), and it always feels like a special treat.  Besides, deprivation is the opposite of luxury!  If you love something as much as I love a good cake, cookie, or ice cream, then you have to make space for it in your life.

Control over my own schedule.  I don’t like being overly busy; in fact I am probably lazier than most people.  That I can work on my own time for just a couple of hours a day, is something I am always grateful for.  This luxury has been one of the biggest blessings in my life.

Weekly massages.  I didn’t used to like massages, until one day I had one with a really good masseuse, and it was life-changing!  I always come out of a good massage with my body feeling like mush, overflowing with contentment.  I currently  go to a spa and a barber shop alternately, and it really makes a difference in my life when I am able to enjoy the luxury of one massage per week.

Purging my closet.  Each season, I try to go through my closet and get rid of everything I don’t love anymore.  I’m trying to take it further by following Marie Kondo’s advice, to keep only things that “spark joy.”  The reward is, of course, looking into my closet and seeing only things I actually want to wear everyday.  Part luxury, part therapy!

Memory foam mattress topper.  We just put one on our bed a few months ago, and I can’t believe I lived my life so far without one.  It makes your bed feel super luxurious, and results in a huge difference in your quality of sleep!

One-on-one dates with my husband and each of our two kids.  I treasure every moment that I spend together with my whole family, but it can be pretty tiring when John and I go out with both our kids and no yaya.  We usually end up focusing all out energies on keeping the kids safe, getting them to eat, and answering their nonstop questions.  It feels so luxurious to me to be able to spend one-on-one time with each of them, be it a movie date with the husband, an impromptu lunch out with my son after picking him up from school, or browsing bookstores with daughter.  I always feel so relaxed on these one-on-one dates, and I really enjoy talking to my husband and kids with no distractions.

What about you?  What are the special things or small rituals that bring a little luxury to your life?  I’d love to know!

One thought on “How to Live a Luxurious Life

Leave a Reply

