The Salad Room at Discovery Primea’s Tapenade

Tapenade at Discovery Primea is one of the restaurants John and I go to when we’re in the mood for salad, and lots of it.

IMG_7518They have a dedicated salad room with a moderate-sized Salad Bar (P620++ per person), along with a bread bar with a variety of cheeses and assorted dips, and seafood selections such as gravlax and fresh oysters.  .

IMG_3394The arugula salad with figs, balsamic vinaigrette, and shaved parmesan was my absolute favorite from the salad selection.  They had the salad pre-mixed our first visit there, but it was no longer on display when we returned.  Good thing it was easy to put together on my own.  I added pistachios for a nice crunch.

IMG_7533The restaurant makes really good pappadums, which I always enjoy with different dips, like hummus, sundried tomato, tzatziki, black olive tapenade, and baba ghanoush.

IMG_3397Another highlight for me are the oysters, which are part of the buffet.  I used to request for the oysters to be baked with mozzarella, and the salad room chef would happily oblige, even bringing the oysters to our table herself.

IMG_3395But the last time we were there with friends, restaurant staff told us that they would now be charging P580++ for every 6 oysters I would have baked with mozzarella!  In other words, you’ll be ordering it at ala carte prices na!

IMG_7520After checking with the Chef, the waiter said they could grill the oysters free of charge if I didn’t ask for any toppings or seasonings, so that’s what I decided to have.  They were still really yum with a squeeze of lemon and a pinch of sea salt.

IMG_7528They have good selections on the ala carte menu too.  Try the Stone-Baked Feta Cheese with Greek Metaxa brandy, sundried tomatoes, capers, almonds, honey, and thyme.  YUM.

IMG_7537

IMG_7524

IMG_7546For dessert, I highly recommend the Gianduja Cake.  It was so good, my friends and I wiped it out immediately the first time we tried it, and we had to order another.

IMG_7552IMG_7554

TAPENADE, G/F Discovery Primea, Ayala Avenue, Makati, Telephone (632) 995.8888

www.DiscoveryPrimea.com

Leave a Reply

